Ghana MTN FA Cup: Top Performing Football Clubs

The Ghanaian FA Cup, currently known as the  MTN FA Cup is the top knockout tournament of the Ghana Football Association.

The competition is played between the clubs of the Premier League, Division One League, Ghana Division Two League, Ghana Division Three League, and GAFCOA. The first G.F.A. Cup competition took place in the season 1957–1958, with an eight years hiatus between the seasons 2002-2010. Accra Hearts Of Oak is the most successful club, having won the competition on 12 occasions, followed by Kumasi Asante Kotoko who has won the cup on nine occasions. In 2016, Bechem United defeated Okwahu United 2–1 in 2016 final.

The current holder is Accra Hearts Of Oak, after defeating Bechem United 2–1 at the Babayara Sports Stadium, Kumasi in the 2022 FA Cup final.

ClubCity / RegionTitlesRunners-UpLast Title
Accra Hearts of OakAccraAccra1292022
Asante Kotoko SCKumasiAshanti Region942017
Real RepublicansAccraGreater Accra401965
Great OlympicsAccraGreater Accra311995
Medeama SCTarkwaWestern202015
Okwawu United FCNkawkawEastern131986
Ashanti GoldObuasiAshanti131993
Mysterious DwarfsCape CoastCentral121968
GhapohaTemaGreater Accra111997
Sekondi HasaacasSekondiWestern111985
Eleven WiseSekondiWestern111982
Bechem United FCBechemBrong-Ahafo102016
New Edubiase UnitedNew EdubiaseAshanti102012
NaniaLegonGreater Accra102011
Dumas Boys of GTPTemaGreater Accra101976
Real Tamale UnitedTamaleNorthern02
Great AshantisKumasiAshanti02
King Faisal BabesKumasiAshanti01
Neoplan StarsKumasiAshanti01
Tano BafoakwaSunyaniBrong-Ahafo01
Gold StarsTarkwaWestern01
Brong-Ahofu UnitedSunyaniBrong-Ahafo01
All BlacksSwedruCentral01
Mighty EaglesHoVolta01
Inter AlliesAccraGreater Accra01

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.